Jamaica Counties

Counties In Jamaica

Jamaica has three counties in Jamaica: Cornwall, Middlesex and Surrey. They were established in 1758 to facilitate the British county court system.

Cornwall County - the westernmost, was named after the westernmost county of England. Savanna-la-Mar was its county town. The island of Jamaica is also divided into 14 parishes, which are grouped into these three counties:

Middlesex County - the middle of the three, was named after an English county of the same name. It was chosen in Jamaica presumably because of its central position. Spanish Town was its county town.

Surrey County - was named after the English county in which Kingston upon Thames is found. Kingston was its county town.


List of Counties in Jamaica and Parishes within:

Cornwall Country

Middlesex County

Surrey County

Cookies on In Jamaica.
This site uses cookies to store your information on your computer.