Counties In Jamaica

Jamaica has three counties in Jamaica: Surrey, Middlesex and Cornwall. They were established in 1758 to facilitate the British county court system.

Surrey County – was named after the English county in which Kingston upon Thames is found. Kingston was its county town.

Middlesex County – the middle of the three, was named after an English county of the same name. It was chosen in Jamaica presumably because of its central position. Spanish Town was its county town.

Cornwall County – the westernmost, was named after the westernmost county of England. Savanna-la-Mar was its county town.

The island of Jamaica is also divided into 14 parishes, which are grouped into these three counties:


List of Counties in Jamaica and Parishes within:


Cornwall Country

Middlesex County

Surrey County